Certificate of Merit

The Certificate of Merit is given annually to outstanding string educators whose positive efforts and influence in our field reach beyond the domain of their given job description and benefit the profession or musical growth of other teachers and/or students in the state of Kansas. Such individuals exhibit high standards and have made contributions that are worthy of special recognition. The Certificate of Merit award honors currently active private, public school, or college teachers who are current members of KASTA. As many as three certificates may be awarded annually.

SCROLL DOWN to nominate a deserving educator.  Nominations must be received by December 31 each year to be eligible for the following year.  Nominations are open all year.  Nominations received after December 31 will be held for the following year.

2021 – Dr. Mark Laycock
2017 – Dr. Cora Cooper
2016 – Frances Oare
2015 – Martha Barnhill
2014 – Rachel Dirks
2013 – Matt Means
2012 – Laura Carpenter
2008 – Rachel Dirks
2007 – Ted Avara
2002 – Dan Delisi
2001 – Lynnita Harris, Cheryl Meyer
2000 – Elizabeth Carroll, Susan Higbee, Michael Harbaugh
1999 – Mary Lou Jones
1997 – WSU Fairmount String Quartet
1995 – Larry Harris
1994 – Janet & Lee Elliott, David Littrell, Julian Shew